Diamond jubilee medal recipients announced

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Diamnd Jubilee Medal

Local MP Guy Lauzon announced Tuesday the names of local residents who have been selected as recipients of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.

"We were overwhelmed with the response to nominations and the number of worthy candidates for the medals," said Lauzon. "We are so blessed to live in such a great community and country. These individuals have truly made a difference and are excellent examples of leaders and Canadians who make us proud."

The following SDSG residents were named as recipients:

Sean Adams

Bill Bresee

Pastor Thurland Brown

Jim Brownell

Wayne Burns

Father Bernard Cameron

Shirley Coons

Mamie David

Rose Desnoyers

Joan Farlinger

Barbara Ann Glaude

Doug Grenkie

Dr. Graham Houze

Ernie Filion

Ken Heagle

Sandy Lalonde

Rachelle Lamond

Gilles Latour

Rick Marvell

Dr. Mary Randlett

Gerald Samson

Josee Sauve

Rick Shaver

Sue Tarle

Theresa Taylor

Trevor Tolley

Karen Torrie-Racine

Helen Tupper

Sandy Weagant

Miriam Wheeler

A formal ceremony to present the medals will take place Dec. 9 at St. Andrews Catholic Church in St. Andrew's West. The event will begin at 1:30 p.m. and is open to the public to attend

The medal was created to mark the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II's accession to the Throne as Queen of Canada. For more information on the Diamond Jubilee Medal and the criteria, visit www.gg.ca/diamondjubilee.

Organizations: Andrews Catholic Church

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page



Recent comments

  • Carole
    November 27, 2012 - 21:14

    I know of 3 other "Local Resident" recipients that are not on your list Mr Lauzon! From Service Canada - Ms Connie Kersten, Mrs Krystal Campeau & myself. Are there any other Local Residents that can take a bow? BRAVO to ALL the recipients! CORNWALL ROCKS...