Sharks sharpen their teeth at awards night

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Cornwall Student Union athletes of the year Darren Templeton and Amber Lapierre.

By Steven Smeall  

CORNWALL, Ontario – With the sports season coming to an end for St. Lawrence College’s Cornwall campus, a banquet was held to give out awards to their student athletes.  

Amber Lapierre and Darren Templeton left the event with the top two awards of the evening.  

Lapierre, a goaltender on the women’s hockey team, was named the Cornwall Student Union female athlete of the year. Lapierre posted eight shutouts in 16 regular season games for St. Lawrence, helping led team to a big championship win at the Challenge Cup playoffs.  

Templeton, the dual-sport athlete who took part in indoor soccer and cross country, received the Cornwall Student Union male athlete of the year award. Templeton was regarded as someone with a great amount of drive and determination.  

"Because SLC Cornwall is such a small campus, we get to build really strong relationships with our student-athletes, giving our athletics banquet more importance to recognize the dedication and success of all of our athletes" said St. Lawrence Athletics and Student Life officer Jacquie Cartwright in a press release.  

Various other awards were handed out throughout the night, such as the Academic & Athletics Achievement Award, which went to the athlete with strong performances in their class and their sport.  

Jenna Jodoin was the women’s recipient after a strong performance with the women’s indoor soccer team as well as a GPA of 3.84. Men’s hockey player Yannick Rochon won men’s award for the second-consecutive year with a GPA of 3.93.  

Ontario College Athletics Association (OCAA) All-Academic awards were also handed out. Seven athletes received the award which was given out to those who achieved a 3.5GPA or higher in their first semester with the college.   Each of the St. Lawrence sports teams had their own individual awards. Those awards were rookie of the year, coach’s recognition, and most valuable player.

A list for the award winners can be found below:  

Cross Country:  

Coach’s Recognition – Sarah Giffin & Lisa Cristiano

Most Valuable Runner – Darren Templeton  


Rookie of the Year – Colin Allaire

Coach’s Recognition – Brad Robertson

Most Valuable Player – Adam Kroon  

Women's Indoor Soccer  

Most Improved Player – Sadie Shayler

Rookie of the Year – Stacie Duval

Coach’s Recognition – Jenna Jodoin  

Men's Indoor Soccer  

Coach’s Recognition – Darren Templeton

Most Valuable Player – Ahmed Saaed  

Women's Hockey:  

Rookie of the Year – Caitlin Champagne

Coach’s Recognition – Stephanie Seguin

Most Valuable Player – Amber Lapierre  

Men's Hockey:  

Rookie of the Year – Ryan Copper

Coach’s Recognition – Qunlin MacDonell

Most Valuable Player – Brandon Gilmour

Organizations: Lawrence College, Ontario College Athletics Association, Cornwall Student Union Cross Country

Geographic location: Ontario

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page