Cornwall Transit Honours Safe Drivers and Safe Workers

Heather Armstrong, Special to TC Media
Cornwall Transit Honours Safe Drivers and Safe Workers
Cornwall Transit Operator James Levert

CORNWALL, Ontario – The 21st Annual Safe Driver/Safe Worker Award Breakfast was held Dec. 7 at the Cornwall Transit facility at 863 Second Street West.

The early morning ceremony was to accommodate the drivers and staff, who were able to receive certificates and pins, before they started their shifts. The awards presented were for long service, safe driving and safe working records.

Len Tapp, Division Manager of Cornwall Transit said, “We want to recognize the level of professionalism Cornwall Transit staff has shown while preforming their duties.”

Of the 34 Cornwall Transit operators, 10 have 15 or more collision free years. With the average operator driving over 40, 000 kilometres a year, this record of safety shows the commitment Cornwall Transit employees have to safety. Jean Marcil, Shift Supervisor and Trainer, explained as part of the training drivers are taught how to deal with situations and provide customer service. In reference to driver training Marcil said, “We teach Defensive Driving as well; above the Ministry (of Transportation) Standards.”

Also on hand to honour the recipients were, Mayor Leslie O’Shaughnessy, CAO Maureen Adams, John St. Marseille, Municipal Works and Infrastructure Manager, Councillor Elaine MacDonald, the councillor on the Transit Committee, Rick Lapierre, Transit Committee Member and MAAC (Municipal Accessibility Advisory Committee) Representative and Ron Bonneville, Cornwall Transit Committee Chair.

Share this article