Chair Payette re-elected, new board members and Chief of Staff following Cornwall Hospital’s annual meeting

Provided by Cornwall Community Hospital
Chair Payette re-elected, new board members and Chief of Staff following Cornwall Hospital’s annual meeting
Chair Josee Payette (left) & Dr. Anastasios Boubalos (right) - photo submitted by CCH


Hospital also releases 2021-2022 Annual Report, showcasing its commitment to advancing Exceptional Care last year despite challenges presented by the pandemic.

CORNWALL – June 15, 2022 – Cornwall Community Hospital (CCH) held its Annual Meeting and elected new members to its volunteer Board of Directors on Tuesday, June 14, 2022.

Josée Payette was re-elected as Chair. Yvonne Bakker was elected as the First Vice-Chair and Alice Wilson-Haramis as the Second Vice-Chair.

Additional changes to the Board of Directors included departing members Michael Pescod and Nancee Cruickshank having both served their full 9-year terms. Two new board members are Deborah Tropea and Josh Eamon. A vacancy created with Grand Chief Abram Benedict’s resignation will be filled soon.

“I am honoured to be re-elected as Chair, and I look forward to working with other board members and the staff and physicians at CCH to continue making progress towards achieving the hospital’s vision of Exceptional Care. Always.” said Chair Payette. “I also thank Michael Pescod, Nancee Cruickshank and Abram Benedict for their contributions to the Board of Directors, and welcome new members Deborah Tropea and Josh Eamon.”

The Board was presented with the hospital’s 2021-2022 Annual Report titled Caring for our Community, featuring a collection of stories from last fiscal year highlighting the hospital’s commitment to providing critical healthcare services and advancing innovative models of care despite the challenges presented by the COVID-19 pandemic. The Annual Report can be found at:

Following the Annual Meeting, Dr. Anastasios Boubalos became the hospital’s new Chief of Staff, replacing Dr. Lorne Scharf, who served as Chief of Staff from 2013 until 2022, the maximum number of terms allowable per the hospital’s governance by-laws. Dr. Boubalos was appointed as Chief of Staff effective June 14 by the Board of Directors in April.

A graduate of McGill University, Dr. Boubalos completed his radiology residency in 1994 and joined CCH as a general radiologist in 2000. In 2019, Dr. Boubalos ascended to become the Chief of Diagnostic Services, where he led many quality improvement initiatives within the hospital’s Diagnostic Services department.

“Dr. Boubalos’ exceptional leadership as Chief of Diagnostic Services and his focus on improving patient-centered care has prepared him well for the challenges and opportunities associated with being Chief of Staff at CCH. The Board looks forward to working with Dr. Boubalos and we thank Dr. Lorne Scharf for his tremendous leadership, dedication and exceptional work throughout his terms,” added Chair Payette.

The Chief of Staff plays a key role at the hospital by providing leadership and guidance to the medical staff and ensuring high quality and safe medical care.

Dr. Scharf, an Emergency Physician who will continue practicing at CCH, was instrumental in providing strategic leadership and clinical guidance to medical staff and hospital teams during his time as Chief of Staff, which included the COVID-19 pandemic.

“On behalf of CCH, I express my sincere thanks to Dr. Scharf for the commitment and guidance he provided as Chief of Staff over the past 9 years,” said Jeanette Despatie, CCH President and Chief Executive Officer. “I look forward to working with Chair Payette, Dr. Boubalos, and new members Deborah Tropea and Josh Eamon on a variety of projects that will advance the healthcare services offered in our community,” added Despatie.

More information on the Board of Directors including meeting highlights and membership can be found at

Share this article