Akwesasne Mohawks elect new grand chief: Abram Benedict

Akwesasne Mohawks elect new grand chief: Abram Benedict
Abram Benedict (pictured) is the new grand chief of Akwesasne. He won the election by a landslide on Saturday

By Adam Brazeau 
CORNWALL, Ontario – Akwesasne residents elected a familiar face in the Mohawk territory as their new grand chief on Saturday.

After serving three three-year terms on the Mohawk Council of Chiefs, Abram Benedict won this weekend’s Mohawk Council of Akwesasne (MCA) election with 477 votes, while Brian David received 241 votes, followed by Emmy Lazore-Mitchell with 300.

Chief Electoral Officer Leona Benedict released the election results, which will remain unofficial until the completion of an appeal period, in a statement on the MCA Facebook page.

Voters also elected 12 district chiefs, four representing each of the three districts in the community of about 13,000, which straddles the borders of Ontario (Cornwall Island/Kawehno:ke), New York State (St. Regis/Kana:takon) and Quebec (Snye/Tsi Snaihne).

The four district chiefs elected for Cornwall Island: Vince Thompson (192 votes), Troy Thompson (188), Louise Thompson (168) and Dennis Chaussi (108).

St. Regis: Ryan ‘Duck’ Jacobs (117), Steve Thomas (77), Darryl ‘Kermit’ Lazore (71) and Tim ‘Dooley’ Thompson (65).

Snye: Karen ‘Buttons’ Loran (232), April Adams-Phillips (188), Joe Lazore (170) and Connie Lazore (160).

Share this article