Few new election candidates regionally

By Phillip Blancher, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter
Few new election candidates regionally
stock photo-MCG

Less than three weeks remain in the nomination period for the 2022 Municipal election and many of the contests remain relatively stagnant.

There has been no change to South Dundas’ complement of candidates with two running for mayor – current deputy mayor Kirsten Gardner, and former councillor Bill Ewing. One candidate is running for deputy mayor, current councillor Donald W. Lewis. And two candidates seek a councillor position – incumbent Lloyd Wells, and newcomer Tom Smyth.

Around the region, North Dundas has no new candidates as of August 2. Tony Fraser is running unopposed for a second term as mayor. Current councillor Theresa Bergeron is running for deputy mayor, and Guy Annable is running for a second term as councillor.

In Edwardsburgh-Cardinal, the incumbent mayor Pat Sayeau and deputy mayor Tory Deschamps are vying for the head of the council table. Stephen Dillabough, presently a councillor, is running for deputy mayor, Hugh Cameron and Chris Ward are the two councillor candidates so far.

South Stormont mayor Bryan McGillis is running for reelection this fall, as are councillors Jennifer MacIsaac and Cindy Woods. Joining the councillor race are Tammy Spittal and Louise Leclerc. There are no candidates for deputy mayor in South Stormont as of August 2.
Francois Landry is the lone candidate so far for mayor in North Stormont. Landry is currently deputy mayor. Steve Densham and Dean Laponsee are vying for the deputy mayor’s position. Densham is presently a councillor in the township. There are now three candidates for councillor in North Stormont: David MacDonald, Adrian Bugelli, and Alison McDonald.

South Glengarry mayor Lyle Warden remains unopposed in his reelection bid. Martin Lang and Jacqueline Milner square off for deputy mayor. Lang is presently a councillor in South Glengarry while Milner was a candidate for the Green Party of Ontario in Stormont-Dundas-

South Glengarry in this spring’s provincial election. Current deputy mayor Stephanie Jaworski is running for reelection as councillor. Jaworski was elected councillor in 2018 and elevated to deputy mayor in 2019 following the resignation of that township’s mayor.

Mayor Jamie MacDonald is still the only mayoral candidate  in North Glengarry, and current deputy mayor Carma Williams is the only candidate for deputy mayor. There are five candidates for council including Michael Madden (Alexandria), Jeff Manley (Kenyon), Jacques Massie (At-Large), Brenda Noble (Lochiel), and Brian Caddell (Lochiel). There are no candidates for the Maxville ward as of August 2.

Three candidates are running for mayor of the City of Cornwall: Glen Grant (incumbent), James Leroux, and Justin Towndale. Towndale is a councillor on that council this term.

Seven candidates are running for 10 council seats including: Martin Chevalier, Sarah Good, Christopher Leclair, Elaine MacDonald, David Murphy, Fred Ngoundjo, and Jason Riley. Only MacDonald is an incumbent councillor.

Municipal nominations remain open until 2 p.m. on August 19. Voters will go to the polls to elect their 2022-26 council term on October 24.

This article was originally written for The Morrisburg Leader.

Share this article