Three students win $1,500 Youth Volunteer Award

Shawna O'Neill, TC Media
Three students win $1,500 Youth Volunteer Award
The Kawartha Credit Union presented three students with a $1

CORNWALL, Ontario – Three students received the Youth Volunteer Award and a bursary of $1,500 on Friday, June 29 at the Kawartha Credit Union. The bursary is fully funded by the Kawartha Credit Union.

“We want these students to know that they have the support from us and from Cornwall,” said Joanne Montford to Team Cornwall. Montford is the Branch Manager of Kawartha Credit Union.


The Youth Volunteer Award was given to students with volunteer achievements that contributed to the well-being of their community. The award was originally created to encourage leadership, community involvement and cooperation.


A high volume of students submitted applications for the bursary this year.


“The applications we received this year were very impressive,” said Peter Gault, Chair of Team Cornwall. “It was a difficult decision, but we feel that these three students are exceptional young leader and we are hopeful that they will continue to support and promote Cornwall as they continue their education.”


This year’s recipients include Hanna Sommerville, a graduate of Holy Trinity Catholic Secondary School, Randall Scott Smith, a graduate of L’Heritage Secondary School and Ariana Roundpoint, a graduate of Cornwall Collegiate Vocational School. 

Share this article