Colts' MacInnis named CCHL Coach of the Year

Published on March 14, 2017
Cornwall Colts Head Coach Ian MacInnis.

MacInnis has been named CCHL Coach of the Year while Cooper was named Top Graduating Player.

Cooper finished this season with career highs in goals, assists and points (26-41-67 in 55 games).  Cooper will play for Clarkson University beginning this fall after a five year career with the Colts that included participating in the Fred Page Cup (2015) and being named Captain for Team Canada East at the World Jr A Challenge (2016).

For MacInnis, it’s the first time he’s been named CCHL Coach of the Year.  The Colts finished this past season 2nd overall with a record of 41-14-4-3 (89 points) compared to 2015-16 when they finished 30-27-4-1 (65 points) and 9th overall (out of the playoffs).

“The players have worked hard all season,” said MacInnis.  “It should be noted that we have more local players than any other team in the CCHL.”

Other CCHL award winners:

-          Grant Hebert – Cumberland Grads - MVP

-          Owen Grant – Carleton Place Canadians - Defenceman of the Year

-          Henry Johnson – Brockville Braves – Goaltender of the Year

-          Charles Levesque – Hawkesbury Hawks – Sportsmanship & Ability

-          Merrick Rippon – Ottawa Jr Senators – Rookie of the Year

-          Cameron Crotty – Brockville Braves – Top Prospect

-          Jason Clarke – Carleton Place Canadians – GM of the Year