Team Cornwall Awards 2019 High School Bursaries

Provided by Team Cornwall
Team Cornwall Awards 2019 High School Bursaries
The 2019 bursary award winners. Submitted photo.

CORNWALL, Ontario – Local high school graduates received the Team Cornwall High School Bursary for their initiative and pride in the Cornwall community.

The bursaries were handed out the students at a ceremony at City Hall on Thursday, July 4.

While academic achievement deserves recognition, Team Cornwall believes that youth should also be recognized for demonstrating strong qualities of character and good citizenship.

“These students are now Team Cornwall ambassadors,” said Peter Gault, Chair of Team Cornwall. “These bursaries are to recognize these exceptional students and help them receive the education they want, as well as to encourage them to promote our beautiful city.”

The Team Cornwall High School Bursary is awarded to graduating students who demonstrate leadership and a sense of community. It has a value of $500 and is meant to encourage students to become ambassadors for Cornwall as they continue their education.

The bursary program is in its ninth year.

This year’s award winners, each selected by their schools, are:

·        Patrick Merizzi – St.Lawrence Secondary School
·        Christina Giovanniello – École secondaire catholique La Citadelle
·        Abby Croteau – St.Matthew’s Catholic Secondary School
·        Nicholas Cleroux – École secondaire publique L’Héritage
·        Addison Girard – St. Joseph’s Catholic Secondary School
·        Jenna Lalonde – Holy Trinity Catholic Secondary School
·        Jessica Doyle – TR Leger

Team Cornwall Youth Volunteer Bursaries
The High School Bursaries are in addition to the Team Cornwall Youth Volunteer Bursaries – which were handed out on June 28th. Fully funded by Kawartha Credit Union, the Youth Volunteer Bursary (value $1,000) was developed to encourage leadership, community involvement and cooperation within students. The program honours extraordinary Cornwall students whose volunteer achievements have contributed to the well-being of their community.

The 2019 Youth Volunteer Bursary recipients are:

·        Chloee Litalien – La Citadelle
·        Sara Legault – St. Joseph’s
·        Madison Ruffo – Holy Trinity

About Team Cornwall Bursaries

Team Cornwall has established bursaries to acknowledge the important role youth play in shaping the future of the community. These bursaries include the Team Cornwall High School Bursary, the Team Cornwall Youth Volunteer Bursary and the Team Cornwall Community Award. Each bursary has its own criteria and selection process. More information about Team Cornwall’s bursaries can be found at the following website:

Share this article