Provided by the Cornwall Lions Club
Alex Labonte, Wildcats Coach of the Year and Kirby Camplin - winner of the Benson Friends of the Roundtable Award. (Photo : Submitted photo)

The Benson Cornwall Lions Club Annual Sports Awards Dinner returned in May after a 3-year absence. The top award, the Jacques Richard Memorial Trophy for the Top Sports Personality went posthumously to Dave Murphy. Dave had been the Chair of the Awards Dinner and MC for the last 15 years that it ran. These roles were taken over by the present Lions Club President, Bill Swinden, who called Dave the “ultimate goodwill ambassador for Cornwall”. Dave’s best friend and his daughter Julia accepted the trophy, saying that Dave was a larger than life personality who loved Cornwall and made it a better place because of all that he did.

Over 60 awards and $6250 in bursaries and support for local sports were handed out during the evening. The top junior athlete was Rhianon Beckstead, a St. Joseph’s CSS student who is one of the best female high school curlers in Ontario. The Benson “Friends of the Roundtable” Award for Lifetime Achievement went to the Wildcats Football Club President Kirby Camplin for his 17 years of leadership building that successful program. Kirby also handed out, for the first time, the Mike Vierling Memorial Scholarship of $1000 to Xavier Uhr, who also won the Senior Wildcat Award and will be playing football for Mount Allson University in the fall. Mike was a longtime Wildcats coach who unfortunately passed away at the age of 47.

It was a successful evening with a full house of 250 at the Best Western, many highlights during the presentations, and well deserved recognition of our wonderful athletes in the Cornwall area. As host Bill Swinden says, it is an evening to celebrate our young athletes, give them some recognition for their hard work and success in their sports and for most, and evening that they will remember for a lifetime.

2023 – 56th Sports Awards
Wed, May 10th @ Best Western
Sport/Org Award Sponsor Name
CUCBA Male Athlete Tanner Nelson
CUCBA Female Athlete Jacie Pilon
CUCBA Personality of Year Denis Andre
Baseball Black Sox Dante Lemoyre
Baseball Si Miller Kaleb Martin
Baseball River Rat Volunteer Award Barry Brown
Boxing Muben Waheed
Curling Curler of Year Matthew Dupuis
Curling Member of the Year Mark Prendergast
Curling Youth Curler Sean Lalonde
Figure Skating Male Beckett Samis
Figure Skating Volunteer of Year Anthony MacDonald
Flag Football Alex Gearey
Football Jr. Wildcat Connor Hamelin
Football Sr. Wildcat Xavier Uhr
Football Coach of the Year Alex Labonte
Football Mike Vierling Memorial Scholarship $1,000 Xavier Uhr
Gymnastics Janelle McLaughlin
High School Boys Badminton RBC Xavier Beckstead
High School Girls Badminton RBC Melanie Kamm-Ramirez
High School Boys Basketball RBC Loic Mageau
High School Girls Basketball RBC Morgan Woods
High School Boys Cross Country RBC Ian McCosham
High School Girls Cross Country RBC Emma Morrow
High School Curling RBC Rhiannon Beckstead
High School Football RBC Colby Delves
High School Golf RBC Cooper McCooeye
High School Boys Hockey RBC Thomas Shoniker
High School Girls Hockey RBC Ella Dickson
High School Boys Soccer RBC Brandon Poirier
High School Girls Soccer RBC Annie Bacchiochi
High School Track & Field Boys Dave Dorman RBC Ian McCosham
High School Track & Field Girls Dave Dorman RBC Marley McCuaig
High School Boys Volleyball RBC Antoine Lafrance
High School Girls Volleyball RBC Ruby Lalonde
Girls Hockey Sue Hickley Award $750 Ava Bellefeuille
Girls Hockey Brian Tardiff Education Bursary $750 Emily Bethune
Boys Hockey Player of the Year Connor Fox
Boys Hockey Volunteer of Year Sophie Filliol
Lacrosse Player of the Year Logan Pyke
Hockey Nolan Gagnon
Multi Sports Athlete of the Year Tanya Deeks
Running Female Athlete Lynne Giroux
Running Male Athlete Isaac Fraser
Soccer Female Athlete Ceilidh Pate
Soccer Male Athlete Bennett Lessard
Soccer Volunteer of Year Marc Primeau
Softball Girls Player of the Year Jessica Beauvais-Sauve
Softball Girls Coach/Volunteer of the Year Roger Sauve
Swimming Male Athlete of the Year Zachary Millward
Swimming Female Athlete of the Year Hailey McDonald
Triathlon-Female Caroline Samson
Triathlon-Male Phil Barnes
Weightlifting Brady Killoran
Joe St. Denis Parks & Rec. Maude Millette
Benson Friends of the Round Table Benson Group Kirby Camplin
Ian Brodie Bursary Brodie Familiy $250 Annie Bacchiochi
Bill Bray Bursary Cornwall Lions Club $500 Max Humm
RBC Bursary RBC $500 Thomas Shoniker
Joe Assaly Award Top Junior Athlete Rhiannon Beckstead
Jacques Richard Top Sports Personality David Murphy
Lions Club Money
CUCBA $1,500
KMGS -girls softball $500
Seaway Valley Soccer Club $500
Share this article