Bravo awards recognize students’ excellence

Image of Shawna O'Neill
By Shawna O'Neill
Bravo awards recognize students’ excellence
Back row, from left: Ron Eamer (Vice-Chair), John Cameron (Director of Education), Auxiliary Bishop Guy Desrochers, Sarah Delves, Emily LePage, Jacob Derochie, Tyler Zeran, Jasmine Savard, Karen McAllister (Trustee), Sue Wilson (Trustee), Todd Lalonde (Chair). Middle row, from left: Chelsea Looyen, Abigail Emberg, Kyrie Dickenson-MacDermid, Alyssa Benedict, Serenah Villeneuve, Devin MacCrimmon. Front row, from left: Braedon Van Putten, Emma Theriault, Findley Abraham, Matthew Hagen, Abigail Prieur. Shawna O'Neill/Seaway News photo.

CORNWALL, Ontario – Students of the Cornwall and area Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario (CDSBEO) were recognized at the final of four area Bravo Breakfast Awards on Wednesday, May 14.

All 16 students, with one representing each local elementary and secondary school, were acknowledged for living out the Board theme: Be Holy – Joy Springs from a Loving Heart! Students’ friends and family were present during the breakfast celebration.

“It’s an honour to be here this morning and to celebrate the excellence you bring to your schools…you young folks are the movers and shakers of the CDSBEO,” said Chairman Todd Lalonde. “You excelle at what you are being recognized for today. On behalf of my fellow trustees…we want to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for everything you do for our schools.”

Alongside CDSBEO representatives, local government officials were present, including Mayor Bernadette Clement and Mayor Bryan McGillis, as well as parish priests, including Auxiliary Bishop Guy Desrochers of the Diocese of Alexandria-Cornwall.

“Thank you for your acts of service – the big things you do that we have noticed and even more importantly, thank you for all of the little things you do that go unnoticed,” said John Cameron, Director of Education.

The following students were recognized during the ceremony for their acts kindness in their school, community and church.

  • Kyrie Dickenson-MacDermid of Bishop Macdonell Catholic School
  • Matthew Hagen of Iona Academy Catholic School
  • Chelsea Looyen of Our Lady of Good Counsel Catholic School
  • Findley Abraham of Sacred Heart Catholic School
  • Emma Theriault of St. Andrew’s Catholic School
  • Sarah Delves of St. Anne Catholic School
  • Alyssa Benedict of St. Finnan’s Catholic School
  • Abigail Emberg of St. Jude Catholic School
  • Emily LePage of St. Mary-St. Cecilia Catholic School
  • Serenah Villeneuve of St. Peter Catholic School
  • Braedon Van Putten of Holy Trinity Catholic Secondary School
  • Jasmine Savard of Holy Trinity Catholic Secondary School
  • Abigail Prieur of St. Joseph’s Catholic Secondary School
  • Jacob Derochie of St. Joseph’s Catholic Secondary School
  • Devin MacCrimmon of St. Matthew Catholic Secondary School
  • Tyler Zeran of St. Matthew Catholic Secondary School

The CDSBEO operates 39 elementary and 10 secondary schools across eight counties, educating about 12,800 students.

Share this article