The Air Cadet League of Canada Honours Local Volunteers

Provided by the Air Cadet League - Wing 5
The Air Cadet League of Canada Honours Local Volunteers
Seated: Jack Christie, Dorothy Yemen, Carolyn Laing, Laurie Archambault. Second Row: Susan White, Jerry Joanisse, Kim Nadler, Lt. Earle DePass. Back Row. Joyce Doherty, David Scott Brown, Annemarie Larocque, Marius Bauer, Barry Franklin, Lewis Jenkins. (Photo : Submitted photo)

The Air Cadet League of Canada, Ontario Provincial Committee (OPC) presented fifteen awards to recipients in Eastern Ontario.

Glengarry lies in an area designated as Wing 5 by the League, stretching from Kingston to The Quebec border. The significant number of awards going to Wing 5 was noted by Regional Director Barry Franklin.

Guest of Honour, David Scott Brown praised the recipients for their dedication and service. The presentation was held at Royal Canadian Legion Branch 544 in Lancaster, the sponsor of 253 Claude Nunney VC Squadron, the Glengarry Air Cadets.

The “Provincial Distinguished Service Medal” is the Ontario Committee’s highest award and was presented to Marius Bauer, of Alexandria, who is the Deputy Regional Director for Wing 5. Over the past sixteen years Marius has been the local Director for three squadrons and Treasurer for a fourth.

Also receiving the Provincial Distinguished service Medal was Dorothy Yemen of Renfrew, who is the long serving Treasurer of the 653 Renfrew Squadron Sponsoring Committee.

The medals were presented by David Scott Brown, Chair of Recognitions and Awards, Air Cadet League – Ontario.

Mr. Brown presented Wing 5 Regional Director Barry Franklin with a Life Membership. In January Franklin was elected to the OPC Board of Governors.

The “Board of Governors Certificate of Recognition” was awarded to Squadron Director Jack Christie who works with 253 Glengarry Squadron and 870  Brockville Squadron.

Lieutenant Earle DePass CD was presented with the board of Governors Certificate of Recognition for his outstanding service to the League’s Effective Speaking Program.

Major (Ret) Lewis Jenkins CD was presented with the Director of the Year award. Lewis was recently appointed as Regional Director of Wing 8.


The “Air Cadet League Volunteer Service Medal” for ten years service was awarded to three 325 Squadron Cornwall volunteers. These were Squadron Director Jerry Joanisse CD, Laurie Archambault, Committee Chair; Kim Nadler, President- Cornwall Kiwanis, Sponsor of 325 Squadron.

Susan White, Committee Chair for 653 Renfrew Squadron was awarded the Air Cadet League Volunteer Service Medal. From 661 Squadron Prescott, Annemarie Larocque, Committee Chair and Member Joyce Doherty received the Air Cadet League Volunteer Service Medal.

Volunteers with twenty years of service received a bar to their Air cadet League Volunteer Service Medal. These were Carolyn Laing, Treasurer of 253 Glengarry Squadron;  Dorothy Yemen, Treasurer of 653 Renfrew Squadron, and Michael Bowen, Committee Chair 870 Brockville Squadron.

Air Cadet League Service Pins for forty-five years service were presented to Jerry Joanisse and Barry Franklin. Service Pins for twenty-five years service were awarded to Dorothy Yemen and Jack Christie.



Share this article