McLeod named chair of 2015 Fred Page Cup

McLeod named chair of 2015 Fred Page Cup
From left are 2015 Fred Page Cup committee members Dean McIntyre

CORNWALL, Ontario – A man with a wealth of local hockey knowledge will chair the 2015 Fred Page Cup being held in Cornwall.

Rod McLeod, a former citizen of the year and winner of the lifetime achievement award presented by the local Lions Club, was given the nod Tuesday.

“Our rich hockey history makes Cornwall a perfect location for the Jr. A Hockey Eastern Canadian Championships,” said McLeod. “We’ve hit the ground running and have already started to contact community partners.”

Other Fred Page Cup executive committee members include Dan Allaire and David Murphy (sponsorship and promotion),  Robert Lefebvre (multimedia), Shawna Mecteau (administration and hosting) and Dean McIntyre (training and equipment).

“The Colts Hockey Club is very excited to work with Rod to ensure a fun, family-friendly experience for hockey fans young and old,” said Cornwall Colts owner Ian MacInnis.

The honourary chair for the event will be all Cornwall Colts Alumni.

“With over 20 years of Colts hockey, we have an incredible list of alumni to boast about,” said MacInnis.  “Their participation only adds to the excitement surrounding the tournament.”

The 2015 Fred Page Cup is scheduled for April 29 – May 3 with all games to be played at the Ed Lumley Arena.

The tournament will include the Colts (hosts), the CCHL League Champion, QJAAHL (Quebec) Champion as well as the MHL (Maritimes) Champions. 

This year’s tournament is in St. Jerome, Quebec beginning Wednesday.

Share this article