Budweiser – King of Cornwall Men’s Flag Football League

Provided by Cornwall Men’s Flag Football League
Budweiser – King of Cornwall Men’s Flag Football League
Pictured from top left to right: Dan Bertrand, Tom MacKay, Marc Bigras, Jordan Amelotte, Scott Coulter, Aaron Primeau, Brian O’Neill, Brandon Picken, Bennett Megarry, Cole Labelle. Pictured bottom left to right: Alan Wheeler, Cody Locey, Matt Gauthier, Matt Genier, Austin MacKay, Thor Grant, Blu Grant. (Photo : Submitted photo.)

Budweiser claimed the 2022 Cornwall Men’s Flag Football Championship on November 5th at Joe St Denis Field.

Third place Budweiser overcame the first-place regular season favourites, Cooperators, by a score of 27-13.

Austin MacKay got things going with a long touchdown reception from quarterback, Thor Grant, to put Budweiser up by one score. The point after and two rouges were scored later in the first half by Budweiser kicker, Aaron Primeau, in what was a back-and-forth defensive battle. Before the end of the half, Cooperators got on the board thanks to a red zone touchdown reception by Jakob Loucks. The score at halftime was 9-7 in favour of the underdogs.

After the half, the eventual champs started to pull away, when Alan Wheeler hauled in a toe-tap TD in the corner of the end zone. Brian O’Neill caught the 2-pt convert. Aaron Primeau later added a field goal to put the Buds up by 13. Late in the game, the King of Beers put the game to rest with a TD reception from Brandon Picken. Jakob Loucks scored his second TD of the game for Cooperators, in the dying minutes of the game. Budweiser defenders, Marc Bigras and Bennett Megarry combined for 3 interceptions in the contest.

The awards banquet was held at league sponsor, Boston Pizza. Regular season award winners were: MVP – Alex Geary (Garlow Roofing), Offensive MVP – Alex Geary (Garlow Roofing), Defensive MVP – Codie Brammall (Cooperators), Rookie of the Year – Cam Geary (Garlow Roofing), Sportsman of the Year – Marc Lalonde (Hartland Home Renos). Playoff hardware recipients were: MVP – Austin MacKay (Budweiser), Offensive MVP – Thor Grant (Budweiser), Defensive MVP – Marc Bigras (Budweiser).

Big thanks goes out to the league executive, team reps, and referees for a successful season.

Anyone interested in playing with the Cornwall Men’s Flag Football League next year is asked to contact the league’s President, Steven Primeau on Facebook. The competitive league is 19+ and consists of 14-16 games with playoffs, 3 referees per game. The season usually starts the first week of August and runs until the first week of November, with 2 games per week that take place at Optimist Park.

About the Cornwall Men’s Flag Football League

The Cornwall Men’s Flag Football League is one of the oldest football leagues in the city that is still running today. Formed in 1976 as a touch football league for men coming out of high school and university tackle football, the league now has several x-pros in their ranks and prides itself in hosting high caliber flag football in Cornwall.

Share this article